Expectations

Relationships of any kind are difficult to navigate.

The most common thing I tell people is communicate. Communication really is the most important aspect of any relationship, be it between friends, significant others, family, co-workers, roommates, or any other category of interaction you can think of that involves at least two people.

But communication is also a broad piece of advice. There are many things to communicate, and many ways in which we do so. But I believe that the most important thing to communicate is expectations.

One of the first things I do when I start teaching a new class is have the students tell me the expectations that they have of me, that they have of the class, and that I might have of them. Generally, the students in all my classes come up with the same set of criteria, because they have a construct of what they expect the student-teacher relationship to be. But by taking a few minutes to communicate what they are, we’ve clarified the relationship to the point where we are all on the same page and we all feel comfortable with the rules of engagement.

So because I’m a huge advocate of communication and setting expectations, it only makes sense for me to do that with my blog as well. After all, this is just another relationship, that of writer and reader.

Schedule
Right now, considering the number of obligations I have, I’m imagining that I have time for a blog post every week, on Mondays. If that should change, I will definitely let you know.

Content
This one I’ve struggled with for a long time but I think I’m finally happy with my solution. I wish I could say that I will only be blogging about a particular hobby or facet of my life, but this will really be a lifestyle blog. So you can expect posts on some of my favorite things, including but not limited to, baking/cooking, traveling, and writing. I know those are really very varied interests, so for those of you who are only interested in hearing about one or another of the topics, I will be sure and tag the posts with the category for ease of navigation.

Contact
Since this post was all about communication, I did want to let everyone know that I’m always looking forward to hearing from people. I added a contact form for any questions or comments, and my social media links are in the sidebar.

So, are there any expectations you have of me? Or really, just anything you want to see on the blog? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

